This article was submitted by Kameshima-kyō Zentarō Umakai, Silver Buccle Principal Herald.

Unto the Kingdom, greetings from Kameshima Silver Buccle!

This past weekend, shortly before departing the thrones, Their Majesties presented an unprecedented 98 Sigils of Æthelmearc to Their subjects, as well as several subjects of foreign lands whose aid was invaluable during Their reign.

So, Kameshima, what is a Sigil of Æthelmearc?

A Sigil of Æthelmearc (or “Sigil” for short) is a non-precedence-bearing award that is given by the Crown, usually at the end of Their reign, as a “thank you” to all those who gave above and beyond to assist Them while They sat the thrones. A “non-precedence-bearing” award means that recipients don’t get any special title (like “Lord/Lady” or “Master/Mistress”) from getting the award, and having it doesn’t move you any higher in the Order of Precedence. It’s just a nice “thank you” present from the Royalty.

And 98 is a lot?

Yes, and it’s a wonderful demonstration of the industriousness of this Kingdom that Their Majesties thought that so many people deserved this recognition. A Royal Reign is a lot of work, not only for the Crown, but for Their staff, retainers, guards, and chamberlains, as well as the Kingdom Officers. “Many hands make light work” is an old adage that is proven every day here in Æthelmearc, but never more so than helping our Royalty help our Kingdom to look its best.

Is there a nifty scroll or medallion or something that goes along with it?

Whether or not to give scrolls or tokens is a personal choice of the Royalty. Their Majesties Titus and Anna Leigh chose to give block-printed scrolls made by the hand of Mistress Fredeburg von Katzenellenbogen.

Sigil scrolls woodblock printed by Mistress Fredeburg von Katzenellenbogen. Photo by Arianna.

Sigil scrolls woodblock-printed by Mistress Fredeburg von Katzenellenbogen. Photo by Arianna of Wynthrope.

What if I’m on the list, but wasn’t at Court? Did I miss the chance to get my scroll?

Not at all! Maistir Brandubh Ó Donnghaile, who served as one of Their Majesties’ Reign Coordinators and also stands the post of Sigil Herald (appropriately enough!), has volunteered to organize the distribution of Sigil scrolls for anyone who was given the Sigil but was not at Court. You can reach him via email at donnghaile@gmail.com.

Enough chatter, get to the list!

As you wish. ^_^

Lady Abbatissa Dreye de Banneberi
Lady Aíbinn Mhór inghean Rioghbhárdáin
Lady Ailis inghean Mhaolain
Master Alaric MacConnal
THL Alianora Bronhulle
Lady Alime bint Yorgi
Mistress Allesandra d’Avignon
Amalia Lesniak
Lord Andros Duran
Mistress Antoinette de la Croix
Lady Aranwen verch Rhys ap Gwalter
Lady Arianna dal Vallone
Mistress Arianna of Wynthrope
Sir Ariella of Thornbury
Baroness Betha Symonds
Master Bovi farmaðr
Maistir Brandubh Ó Donnghaile
THL Caellin Athlone
Lady Cairdha Eilis O’Coileain
Mistress Cassadoria Finialla
Lord Christian Magnus
Duke Sir Christopher Rawlyns
Lord Ciaran MacAlasdair
Baron Connor Levingstoune of the Kingdom of Atlantia
Mistress Cori Ghora
THL Cristina inghean Ghriogair
THL Desiderata Drake
Dromund Geirhjalmson
Lord Drusis of Silva Vulcani
Lord Durante de Caravaggio
Lady Edana the Red
Lady Edekyne O Fierhie
Duke Edward Grey of Lochleven of the Kingdom of the East
Countess Elena d’Artois le Tailleur
Baroness Elisabeth Johanna von der Flossenberg
Baroness Elizabeth Arrowsmyth
Lady Elsa Taliard
THL Elss of Augsberg
THL Fiora d’Artusio
Fuji’na-dono no Takako
Dona Gabrielle Winter
Lady Ghalyla bint Joseph
Hara-dono Kikumatsu
Lady Helen of Avalon
Mistress Hilderun Hügelmann
Lady Hilaria Vistalia
Lady Ingunn Halldorsdottir
Lady Isabel Fleuretan
Ishiyama-roku-i Gen’tarou Yori’ie
Master John the Pell
Drotin Jǫrundr hinn Rotinn
Countess Kallista Morgunova
Lady Katerin Starke
Baroness Katerina McGilledoroughe of the Kingdom of the Middle
Koga-san Rentarou Hiroshi
Lady Lantani de Forez of the Kingdom of Ansteorra
Lady Lasairfhiona inghean Faolan
Lizbet Wulfbrandsdottir
Viscountess Lucilla Theresa de Courtenay
Lord Lucius Avitus Gregorius
THL Madeleine de l’Este
THL Madoc Arundel
Lady Mairin O’Cadlah
THL Marcus Claudius Cincinnatus
THL Marek Viacheldrago
THL Margery Kent of York
Minamoto-roku-i Kumamoto Sakurako
Duchess Morgen of Rye
THL Morien MacBain
THL Muirgheal inghen Dubhghaill
Murdoch Stewart
Meistress Myfanwy ferch Rhiannon
Niccolo Salvietti
Orabelia Avenel
Don Orlando di Bene del Vinta
THL Phelippe Ulfsdotter
Don Po Silvertop
Lady Racheldis of Swansmere
Lady Ragna Haakonardottir of Skara
Lady Raven Whitehart
Lady Rhiannon of Ravenglass
Lord Richard von Tanner
Lady Rivka bat Daniyel
Lord Robert MacEwin of Thornhill
Master Robert Marston
Baron Robert O’Connor
Shishido-iemoto Tora Gozen
THL Sophie Davenport
THL Teresa Luisa Alvarez
Lord Theowulf fitz Renault
Sir Thomas Byron of Haverford
Duchess Thyra Eiriksdottir of the Kingdom of the East
Lord Uaithne mac Faelin
Lady Verena Witkopf
THL Vistillia Messaline Pulcheria of the Kingdom of Trimaris
Vita Cincinnatus
Don William Paris
Lord Wolfgang Starke

In Honor and Service,

Kameshima Zentarō Umakai

Silver Buccle Principal Herald, Kingdom of Æthelmearc