SCA Name: Maeve Ni Siurtain

SCA title: The Honorable Lady, her Ladyship

Years in the SCA: 30+ (on and off)

Where did you start, what was your first event?

I started in the Rhydderich Hael at Buffalo State College at the Milton Festival on campus. We were still part of the East Kingdom at the time. My first event was Summer’s End in the Canton of Beau Fleuve.

What is your persona?

My persona is Gaelic, a chieftain’s daughter. I have not developed a specific persona story. I tend to wear clothing from the early periods, 13- 14th century. Maybe someday I will put some time into developing more details.

Why did you pick this persona?

I picked Gaelic/Celtic because I have ancestry in Ireland. (Counties Cork and Clare). I chose the name Maeve because I really liked the stories of Maeve of Connacht, the Celtic queen.

Do you have any group or household affiliations?

I have been a member of the tribe of Tuatha Fieren and am a member of Ravenstar Lance. I am an Equerry to Mistress Shoshido Tora Gozen.

Tell us a little bit about your life outside the SCA.

I was a Special Education teacher and teacher assistant until I became semi-retired in 2007 due to an injury. I spent 4.5 yrs in the Army National Guard as a Combat Medic as an E-4 (survived basic training at the ripe old age of 29!). I have 2 children, a daughter and son, 21 and 13 yrs old. I live with my husband, son, 2 guinea pigs, and a dog in Akron, NY. I also own a horse, Guinness, and we have spent the past year getting to know each other.

What SCA activities do you or have you participated in?

Over the past 30+ yrs I have participated in/tried the following activities: Heavy fighting (spear), fencing, choir, scribal (both calligraphy and illumination) archery, thrown weapons, music(recorder/drum), autocratting Ice Dragon and the first investiture of Æthelmearc, embroidery and sewing (fiber arts). Whew! And, oh, yeah, Equestrian!

Tell us a little bit about your SCA experience (jobs, offices, duties, etc.

I have held the local offices of Danceminister, MOL, and Chatelaine. I am currently Chatelaine for Region 4. I have also been Queen’s Equestrian Champion and have been on the Queen’s guard for Duke Timothy and Duchess Gabrielle’s second reign. I have helped with making garb for 2 reigns. I have taught classes on being a chatelaine, beginning dance, and equestrian activities

When you started in the SCA, what goals did you have?

I didn’t really have goals, per se, but I wanted to try as many things as I could. Which I did. It was fun to meet many different people in the different groups and to go to events outside of my own group.

What are your goals now?

Now? I guess one goal I have is to do what I can to be useful, continue to help new people find their “thing” (I love seeing people I’ve helped succeed), as well as try to find the fun I used to have way back when.

If you could accomplish only one thing in the SCA in the next year, what would it be?

To get to more events than in recent years. There are several events that sound so interesting that I would love to see what they are all about, like, Agincourt, A Stitch in Time, and more equestrian events…

What advice would you give to a new person in the SCA, or if new yourself what question would you ask and who would you ask it of?

My advice would be to try everything to see what you feel comfortable and have fun doing. Don’t be shy, ask lots of questions, there really are not too many wrong ones… Don’t worry about garb in the beginning, take at least a year or two, or three before deciding on joining a household. Help where you can, even if its just moving a chair/table or two. When I was new, I asked about everything (politely) and I asked everyone, whether it was about clothing, activities, etc. (and with true curiosity, people were more than willing to tell me about it or point me to someone who could!).

If you magically woke up with an SCA talent you do not already have, what would it be?

That’s funny. I don’t really know… I guess to be really good at something that I have tried/participated in?

Don’t be modest, what award or honor would you like to receive above all else and why?

Above all else? Not really. There are maybe only two at the moment. I would love to be considered for the Order of the Golden Lance and to be a consort for a Crown Tourney once. It would be an honor to be considered for the Order of the Pelican.


Please add additional comments as you see fit.

Being part of this organization has given me an “extended family” of sorts. Getting to know people from all over the kingdom has been a wonderful thing and I have been getting to know many more. I was able to attend the Society’s 50 yr celebration and met/talked to four of the founding members and met many people in the equestrian community across the nation (and their horses!). Starting out when I did and now are very different because of the development of the internet. Information is easily available and it is easy to purchase anything you want/need. I enjoyed the challenges of adapting/creating things from what was around without spending a “fortune”. It is fantastic that many artisans have developed talents and businesses based on this hobby. I hope that I can continue to participate for many years (decades) to come in whatever capacity I can. If you see me at events, say hello! I love meeting and talking with people (new and not so new). Who knows, you may end up teaching me something new!!

If you are interested in participating in the “Populace in Focus” articles please learn how here: 

Populace in Focus articles – learn more here!